Board of Directors

The AMEB Victoria Board of Directors, appointed by the University of Melbourne receives advice from an Examinations Advisory Committee, which includes members with expertise in education, training and assessment. Each Victorian examiner is a member of their respective subject’s Specialist Examining Panel, which meets regularly to discuss examining matters and engage in professional development activities. Day-to-day operations are the responsibility of the General Manager.

The Directors of Australian Music Examinations Board (Vic) Limited are as follows:

Professor Ian Holtham, BA(Hons), DipEd, PhD(Melb), BMus(Hons)(Durham), HonFMusA, FTCL, ARCM, LRAM, LGSM (Chair).
Associate Professor Joel Brennan, BMus(Oberlin), MMus, MMA, DMA(Yale) (Deputy Chair)
Mr John Demagistris, BBus(Monash), CA, CPA
Dr Mark McGee, DMA, MMus, BMus(Hons), GradDipEd, FTCL, LMusA, STAT
Dr Elizabeth Mitchell, PhD, MMus(Melb), ConcertRecitalDip(Lond), LMusA
Ms Alison Sewell, LLB(Hons), BEdSec(Mus), AMusA

Examinations Advisory Committee

The Examinations Advisory Committee advises the Victorian Board on matters pertaining to the conduct of examinations in Victoria. The Committee’s membership is as follows:

Dr Elizabeth Mitchell, PhD, MMus(Melb), ConcertRecitalDip(Lond), LMusA (Chair)
Dr Mark McGee, DMA, MMus, BMus(Hons), GradDipEd, FTCL, LMusA, STAT (Deputy Chair)
Dr Rosemary Beer, BVSc(Hons), AMusA, ATMusA
Mr David Howes, MMus(Melb), BEd(Melb), LMusA
Ms Jennifer Meachem, BEd(Music)(Melb)
Dr Ken Murray, BMus(Hons), MMus(Perf), PhD(Melb)
Mr John Quaine, BMusEd(Melb)

Specialist Examining Panels

The Chair of each Specialist Examining Panel in Victoria is as follows:

Accordion – Mr Ian Southwood
Brass – Assoc Prof Joel Brennan
Organ – Dr June Nixon AM
Percussion – Ms Wendy Couch
Piano – Dr Mark McGee
Recorder – Ms Ruth Wilkinson
Speech and Drama – Mr Leslie Cartwright
Strings – Mr Fintan Murphy
Teaching – Dr Elizabeth Mitchell
Theory – Dr Ian Burk
Woodwind – Mr Neil Fisenden